top of page

Tips from the Best Painter in the Great British Hobbit League

"Every Great British Hobbit League Season rewards not just the top gamers in the regions, and the league overall (more on that in this post), but also the hobbyists who've impressed event attendees the most throughout the year. Best Army (or Best Painted) awards are a compulsory part of every event because it's such a key part of 'The Hobby', particularly for a game so embedded in Tolkein's Middle Earth. As such we award an Artisan of the Year award to the person who wins the most of these trophies in a season. This year John Partridge took home the prize. Below, he shares some tips on how to get your miniatures noticed at a GBHL event." ~ Harry Parkhill - GBHL Marketing Coordinator.


John has won the award with 4 different Armies and 4 Boards

John ~ "I have been a painter for a long time. Whilst playing 40K the changing meta meant I felt I was always rushing to get the next thing ready as GW kept adjusting things and releasing new the new codex.


Switching to MESBG, and its more evergreen format, meant I could focus more on the hobby side of things, as well as the gaming. I’m most well known for my display boards, which is something I’ve only begun doing since starting MESBG, and I’ve quickly found it to be probably my favourite part of the hobby.


John bloody loves a good display board.

They are great fun to build, and in terms of execution, require less finesse than normal painting. My painting style is more army focused than individual finesse, and I think my ‘success’ this year stems more from how I present the overall display of the army rather than the technical brilliance other painters, such as Sean Creed or Louis Van Hecke, can achieve.


John takes inspiration from Sean Creed in terms of technical painting skills.

I like to use a variety of techniques to make my models look a bit different. I’m a big fan of enamel washes, especially streaking grime, and technical paints, like dirty down rust effect. Using these same paints in varying ways allows you to get lots of different effects. I’ve been trying to push myself as well this year with new things, finally buying a (cheap) airbrush, and trying to learn how to use it.


Another technique I’ve been trying to learn is freehand, but definitely need a lot more practice with this.


But I do have some tips I can share to help make your models stand out at an event...


Tip Number 1 - Basing.


Good basing makes a massive difference in how your army looks overall. Sand and a tuft or two is functional, but if you can, try and add some verticality and different texture types to it E.g pavement alongside muddy earth.


Tip Number 2 - Shading/Tinting.


Using things like streaking grime or quick shade, especially for evil armies, can quickly add a unifying layer of shading/tinting that brings the whole model together.


Tip Number 3 - Display Board



It's a "Best Painted" hack, and I’ll be the first to say a good display board can elevate an averagely army hugely."


John claims he "can't freehand".


Thanks John for those tips - crucial tips for anyone to start off on their Best Painted plans... But it's fair to say when you see his work it's going to take more than those tips to reach his level... Check out his Instagram here.
 

Upcoming Events:



Until Next time, may this hobby be a light for you when all other lights go out.

BURARUM - HARRY - GBHL Marketing CoOrdinator




991 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page