top of page
  • GBHL

How to paint a Rohan Royal Guard - David Clark

Updated: Jul 30, 2020



You’ll see some delightful pictures accompanying this post, which have all been provided just for you by one of the BEST PAINTERS in the GBHL, David Clark, who came away with the painting award in Bristol early in the year.

He’s been kind enough to photograph and write up his recipe for how to paint a Rohan Royal Guard… I hope you agree it’s a fantastic insight into how an incredible paint job is achieved. - GBHL Harry

 

Hi all, here is a painting tutorial on how I painted my royal guard...


I Started off with washing the models soapy water then clearing up all the flash and mould Lines.


Once that was done I glued the Arms in place and filled in the gaps with green stuff.


I use my airbrush to prime the miniature with Vallejo black then, without cleaning the cup out, and added some white and did a zenith highlight (Note from Harry: That's where you spray a lighter colour down onto a miniature so the brightness shows through on later layers.)


Armour/sword:


1. Vallejo Air Colour Gunmetal Grey

2. Then I do a wash, my best tip is to do multiple thin coats of Nuln Oil wash.

3. I then apply the next colour Vallejo Game Air (VGA) Chainmail Silver leaving the recess showing the shade.

4. VGA Silver was applied at the highest points and edges, for this I would use the side of the brush. This is the process I pretty much did on the whole miniature.




I decided to paint the cloth areas next as I decided these were in awkward to paint without making mistakes and having to touch up. I also put this colour on the shield.

1. Khorne Red 1+1 Mephiston Red was applied as the base colour 2. Wash mix VGC Black ink 1+2 VGC Red ink 3. I reapplied the base colour 4. I added a spot of Kislev Flesh to the base mix and applied to the highest points.


Green:

1. C Caliban Green 1+2 C Warboss Green 2. Athonian Camoshade 3. Reapply the base colour 4. Add a spot of C Kislev Flesh for a highlight. This was applied to the cloak and shield.




Leather Armour:

1. Rhinox Hide 2. Nuln Oil 3. Rhinox Hide 2+1 C XV-88. TIP, try to use the side of the Brush as much as you can on the raised areas 4. XV-88, and add a spot of Rhinox Hide. These colours were applied to to the vambraces, greaves and shoulder pauldrons also the belts.




Brown cloth:

1. Doom Bull Brown 2. Agrax Earthshade 3. Reapply the base colour 4. Doom Bull Brown 1+1 Kislev Flesh. This was done to the gloves, boots and trousers.



Wood:

1. VGC Charred Brown 2+1 VGC Earth 2. Seraphim Sepia wash 3. VGC Charred Brown 1+2 VGC Earth When applying this bit I did it with VERY shaky hands. 4. VGC Earth. When applying this to the shaft I did a break every so often. These colours were applied to the inside of the shield and on a spear shaft.


Gold (it should be bronze really, but oh well!)


1. Balthasar Gold 2+1 Retributor Armour

2. Reikland Fleshshade

3. Retributor Armour

4. P3 Radiant Platinum, this is a good colour for highlighting gold and when doing it try to use the side of your brush. These colours were applied to the rim of the helmet, pommel on the sword and shield boss also belt buckles.


Helmet Plume

1. Abaddon Black

2. Abaddon Black 1+1 C Dark Reaper - use the side of the brush for applying this.

3. Dark Reaper when applying this layer I started to stipple with the side of brush.

4. Dark Reaper 1+1 Thunder Hawk Blue also with this player stippling it with the side of the brush.


Skin/face:

1. VGC Dwarf Skin

2. Reikland Fleshshade

3. VGC Dwarf Skin 2+1 VGC Elf Skintone

4. VGC Elf Skintone. These colours are applied to the side of neck and lips.

Blonde hair 1.VGC Khaki 1+1 VGC Bonewhite 2. C Seraphim Sepia 3. Reapplied the base colour.

4. VGC Bonewhite. These colours were applied to the Beard.

That's a Royal guard painted to an acceptable tabletop standard!

If there’re any areas you feel that are a bit too crazy and pop out too much you can always go back and do a glaze of the base colour.


Also I have not done it yet but I will be putting an enamel gloss coat on and once that's dried then an enamel matt coat.




Thanks for reading, I hope you get something out of it!" - David Clark


 





























267 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page